Who am I? I am loved!

Ok. Remember last week and you may have been wondering why you were chosen? Well, I will get to that in a few…

It is hard to define actually what love is. Is it a feeling or an action? Is it something inherent or learned? Throwing the “L” word out there in the universe sometimes leave blurred lines and undefined expectations in the wrong ears. Do my parents love me because I’m their child? Does my boyfriend love me, although he never says it? Do I truly need to hear it to know I am loved? Do I have to prove something to earn someone’s love? (I’m sorry. We are so performance driven, almost to a fault. You know we think that sometimes my sisters!). See what I mean! SO CONFUSING!

Some years ago, my cousin and I were taking a road trip, talking about our family. We love our family so much! We just never heard anyone saying, “I love you.” It was something that was never said at least in public. It was just assumed everyone was loved. We realized our parents weren’t told that and the cycle repeated itself by denying us such terms of affection. My cousin and I agreed that we would try our best to break the cycle by telling our children we love them every chance we get!  There is nothing they could do to get our love.  We love them regardless.

Now let’s get to the deep part! I have come to understand that there is a love so incomprehensible that it is so difficult to explain.   I don’t have to search for it, demand it or work hard to get it. It’s a love that soothes the ugliest hurt, calms the anxious mind and heals the broken heart. It’s a love that is showered on me JUST BECAUSE OF WHO I AM! A beautiful fly girl on a mission!

To embrace such a love was difficult at first because I felt I did not deserve such a love from anyone because of an abusive past. I felt unworthy and undeserving and that feeling lingered into adulthood. Well, my sisters, all that junk was merely junk. We tend to carry that sense of feeling to the point where it defines us. Girl please! You are loved by the most High, regardless of your past, what you have done and what you have said! We do not have to be perfect to receive this love! Just be open to it.

Yes, yes I know what you are getting ready to say. “But LaLa. You don’t know what I have been through. No one could possibly love me.” That’s a lie, my sister! You are the most beautiful thing coming! God loves you to a depth that cannot be measured and a height that reaches into the universe, so much so his son, Jesus, laid his life for us!  He knew you before you knew yourself. Wait…before your mother even knew you! Deep, isn’t it?

“Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration—what a creation! You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; you know exactly how I was made, bit-by-bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, the days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.” (Ps. 139.13-16, The Message Bible). And that’s why you were chosen, my sisters. YOU ARE LOVED!

MY SISTERS!  CHOOSE LOVE TODAY! I mean it!  Love you!

Peace and love,

LaLa

My sisters, what is keeping you from receiving the love you deserve? This love I am speaking of…

I would love to hear from you!

